jim morrison was not a sport climber

21 05 2008

'i'm on belay brah'

 

In this episode of ICFTG i’m going to come clean: i like to drink beer, and while drinking said beer, i often like to smoke myself a cigarette…or 12. i, like my dead bro jim morrison, like to party.

freud would describe this as my (and jim’s, janice’s, and jimmy’s) ‘death drive’, or my (our) urge to not exist in a world bereft of experience. while i agree a world of (un)experience is a reality for many of my ‘human’ peeps, i am pretty sure i’m not not experiencing the world in a way that compels me to die sooner. i know this because i clip bolts and….um… sing along to musicals in my car (and your car if you’ll let me).  so i don’t smoke and drink to kill myself: freud was wrong. but what of the radical disjunct between my urge to ‘debauch’ (as in debauchery) and my climbing motivated urge to be ‘fit’? i mean, how does 12 pitches in the southern region translate to a 6 pack of PBR at Miguel’s?  more generally, (having seen the morrison-esque wreckage that is a comp party, a night at hp40, or a monday at miguel’s in may) how do we reconcile our partying and our training and climbing?

go.

-tissue

Actions

Information

3 responses

21 05 2008
thearchitecturality

i once had a track coach who said, “we run so we can eat.” -as opposed to “we eat so that we can run.”

i climb so that i can ‘debauch.’

23 05 2008
the bpc

we drink to celebrate what sikk and rad fools we are.

19 06 2008
Imponderable

Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

cheers, Imponderable!!!

Leave a Reply

